Warning: Potential headache inducing question

A recent conversation nudged me into recognising that some people in, say their early 40es, are perfectly content with who they have become, where they are in life and what they have accomplished. A part of me acknowledges that, still somewhere there is a MUCH bigger part of me that simply do not get how that works.  How can it be possible to already have reached the “finishing line”?

Do you ever have this sense that there is something more you still need to do or become, a part you are to play, that somewhere there is a path you are yet to walk. That’s where you will find me. In this kind of zone where it is still unclear what or where or when or how. I know I am far from alone there. That certain friends and coaching clients keep me company in that zone. Being there leaves me restless at times, but above all it is such a very intriguing and exciting place to be and I am so curious to find out what’s next. Alan Seale, a coach whom I only very recently heard of, but instantly liked refers to this as a search for your soul mission. Robert Dilts, one of the most inspiring people I have ever met describes it as discovering your calling. Sound appealing, doesn’t it?

How about you? If you were looking at a scale of feeling settled and content on the one side and in the process of searching and discovering on the other, where do you find yourself?

4 thoughts on “Warning: Potential headache inducing question

  1. Wow, what a true post. I can only agree with you. I’m so excited to see what life has to offer for me being a forty-something. There is so much I want to see and explore and having this experience of the forty-somethings makes this journey really amazing, I think.
    Living in the 21st century offers so many possibilities, there truly is a lot to expect.

  2. Bonnie,
    I understand the zone you speak of.
    I don’t think I’ll ever reach that finishing line…because I am always wanting to learn new things and think there is always room for improvement. 🙂

    Reminds me of a favorite quote by Michelangelo:
    “The greatest danger for most of us is not that we aim too high and we miss it,
    but that we aim too low and we reach it.”

    Wishing you all the best,
    Mary (from BYW Bootcamp)

Leave a Reply

